Note duration and adjusting pauses

Hi Hooktheory community!

I have two very specific questions:
1) As far as I can see with the Record feature Hookpad writes notes from 1/16 to 1 (whole) notes. I’m a beginner to music theory and wanted to know if it is possible to do any mistakes with the duration. I type a note with my keyboard and it automatically gets matched to the closest note category, is that correct? Or can I by accident create sth like a 1/27tel note?

2) You made this amazing video to help create a song starting with the lyrics. I followed the process and at minute 2:35 I can see a small gap between the entered notes. The next second this gap is closed in the video, but I don’t understand how you did that. Is it possible to automatically extend a previous note to the starting point of the next note?
I’m afraid I’ll mess up my rhythm if I do adjustments with my curser and it would be much quicker to automatically extend notes.

Here you can see that by typing in my rhythm with the keyboard I created a lot of gaps that were unintentional. Maybe there exists a shortcut to extend one note to the beginning of the next and I just couldn’t find it?
Bildschirmfoto 2022-08-19 um 08.31.24

Thanks so much for your time and support.

• Stefanie

Hey Stefanie,

sorry for the late response. Yes, you guessed correctly. The note duration will always get matched to the next closest position of a 1/16 grid. So you can’t accidentally write “weird” durations.