Need Help Analyzing My Own Progression

Hello!

I’m a long time musician that knows a little theory but I really do everything by ear. As an exercise I wrote a riff on guitar and then attempted to analyze it by creating a hookpad project to understand exactly what I wrote and also perhaps write new parts. I cannot add the chords the way I want to and I’m trying to understand why. Basically the progression starts with Em - Em7 - Em6 - cM7 - FM7sus4 . I think it would be in C major but for the life of me can’t figure out how to get the Em6 as an available chord. Any help understanding why would be greatly appreciated . Thanks in advance.

This is gonna sound messed up but this is what you need to get an em6

Put in
C#m7 b5/E

6 chords are actually inverted chords but can be used in this way, but it does mean that the theory is a bit confusing to get them diatonically, especially as the c# in an em6 isn’t in the e minor scale.

Using the key of D Major, or B Minor instead of E minor, will mean that c# is in key.

Thanks for the prompt response! I had edited my post to include the additional chords of cM7 - FM7sus4 in my progression. I assumed the key was C major but not knowing how to get the Em6. Not sure if with the added context that helps understand my question better. I assume it can’t be D major/B minor due to the FM7sus4 instead of the F#, is that right?

I can’t say it’s a great sounding progression, but here it is working in A minor.

I’m not great at theory myself, but i don’t really like the progression because that c# is a really dissonant note, and because of that you want a strong resolution for it, and the strongest resolution of any interval is a half-step. So to my ears, a Cmajor in place of the Cmaj 7 is much stronger (with how i’m assuming you are playing it on guitar).

I’d maybe try something more like. Em7,Em6,C,CMaj7,F