Hookpad key change within a section

This question was sent to us via email

In Hookpad, is there any way to show a key change in a single section, without having to begin a separate section in the new key?

2 Likes

At the moment, no. However, we have thought a lot about this.

Basically we haven’t come up with a clean way to do it both from a UI perspective (visual representation). In addition, it is going to be a ton of extra work under the hood. We are spending our time on other features since the breaking into multiple sections is a reasonable work around right now.

Hey Chris, I’m new to Hookpad, and I was wondering how do I separate a song into multiple “sections”? I need to be able to incorporate key changes, and I can’t seem to get it to work (though I may just not understand your workaround, i.e. what a “section” is).

@phorwitz, By breaking into sections, I mean creating separate Hookpad projects for each section. For example, say you want a verse in the key of C and a chorus in the key of D. You could call one project “My Song - Verse” and have it in the key of C and have it contain all of the chords/melody of the verse. Then create another project called “My Song - Chorus” and have it in the key of D and have it contain all of the chords/melody of the chorus.

Unfortunately, there is no way to play both sections continuously in Hookpad, but at least you can write out the song.

Oh, I see what you’re saying. Well I like the tool but this is kind of a deal breaker for me. It’s like: here’s this really nice car! It’s has all the features you want: power windows, A/C, leather seats. Oh, but it can’t turn left…

Key changes are hardly uncommon. Thanks for the reply though!

Any sufficiently elaborated tonicization can bring about modulation that cannot be separated from the original key into logical sections.