Haunting Dark Music Theory

Please, can someone give me some advice on how to write scary, dark, horror music, the stuff that creates a really anxious tense feeling. I’ve read the books and I’m watching youtube but I’m still having trouble creating dark melodies and chord progressions. Surely someone has covered this extensively for beginners somewhere.

Tutorials, sites, advice anything is most welcome and appreciated :slight_smile:

Thank you

Hey bro thanks for reaching out, sorry I wasn’t as descriptive as I could be I’m a newbie.

Horror, scary, anxious, frightening, moody, tense, eerie,

Vaz thank you so much for the help. I tried a track in Locrian but it didn’t sound scary at all I just made some chords with the notes and was jumbling them around. I don’t know how to use a scale properly to get it’s characteristics.

Hey Vaz, sorry for the late reply. Hope you are doing well in these crazy times.

I’ve not been doing much work on music. I missed this message as I didn’t have alert set up. I’ve read book 1 and I’m messing around in Locrian and I just can’t get anything sounding haunting and dark, the progressions sounds happy and the melodies are just very weak, I’ve been trying for hours.

Blessings

Chords and melody are just one part of the picture. Instrument choices and octave range play an equally big part too. There are atmospheric samples etc. that can sound incredibly dark just alternating between two notes for example, and on the other hand you’d have a very tough time getting any combination of chords and melody to sound truly terrifying on (e.g.) an acoustic guitar.