'phdm' chord meaning

Hello everyone :slight_smile:
I’m just studying the song ‘needy’ from Ariana Grande on the theory tab ( can be seen here : needy by Ariana Grande Chords, Melody, and Music Theory Analysis - Hooktheory ) .
the song has a really interesting chord progression. As you can see on the screen shot that i joined, the second chord seems to be what i call an altered chord but i don’t understand how it is caracterised here with the name ‘phdm’.
At first i thought it was for the phrygian dominant but the 4 of the phrygian dominant is not the same chord.

Same for the first chord, what ‘bor’ meaning ? ‘borrowed’ ?

Thank you in advance !

it does means Phrygian Dominant.
Yes, “bor” means borrowed.

The chord is just a G/Ab but since there is no way to put that into hookpad they have to use a confusing notation or something idk

Yeah the only way I see a Phrygian dominant is based on G. This kind of bizarre notation is making me lean away from buying Hookpad. I’ve been studying the books, and although I don’t always agree with them, they’re useful. This is an example, to my mind, of very much not useful.

hello everyone :slight_smile: !
Thanks for your answers !
@chicknz , for me, its not a G/Ab , when you see the note of the chord use it is g# b d g. for me its an alteration ( moving one or two of the tone chord from a semitone) of the 4 , it is verry common on rnb track is gives a that ’ sexy feeling ’ i think .
Even considered in phrygian dominant mode, it is a mistake because there is no ‘D’ in Eb phrygian dominant ( D#, E, G, G#, A#, B4, C#, D#).

Screenshot 2024-02-27 at 14-21-08 needy by Ariana Grande Chords Melody and Music Theory Analysis - Hooktheory

@dnuttle , yes sometimes hookpad just don’t know how to threat certain chords… certainly because their creator don’t know either. It’s like A.I.
But i love hook pad to quickly analyse a chord progression or a melodie that’s fantastic.

1 Like