Midi keyboard won't play single notes

I’m very new to writing music, and I have a cheap and cheerful Keystation Mini32 Mk3, which I’m still getting to grips with. When I use it with the DAW it comes with, I can assign a sound to it and hear single notes or multi-finger chords fine. However, in Hookpad, I can’t - I can change the instrument, but there are piano chords that also playback under every note that I can’t get rid of, that bear no relation to any chords that I might have chosen to enter under the staff. The result is a frustrating clash that that makes it impossible to properly experiment or improvise. E.g. - I think pressing C on it’s own plays a C major piano chord with a C in whatever instrument I’ve manually selected on top, which sucks if I’m trying to see how it sounds over a different chord.

Some observations:

• Adjusting the mixer doesn’t fix this, and nor does deleting voices from the band.

• The issue is also present if I try to play scales using my keyboard in the Hooktheory free preview.

• Sometimes if I haven’t played anything for a few minutes, there will be a short latency (5-10 seconds or so) where I get a few notes by themselves, but the unwanted chords always kick back in and then won’t go away at all until the next “break” from playing. .

• While the “chord” sound is playing back and confusing things, Hookpad is correctly recording/entering either single-note melody OR single-note-press chords depending on where the cursor is (Though when I’m using it to enter chords, it seems to seems to randomly give me complex voicings or chords borrowed from other modes that I’ve not chosen, and I can’t figure out why).If the cursor is on the chord line, I only hear the chord as expected, and playback by clicking the play button is also fine with no unexpected piano chords, so the big problem seems to be with playing melody with the keyboard only.