Lets share what can be achieved on Hookpad

It would be good to set up a creative forum of hookpad users where we could see and hear the results of what can be done on Hookpad. The main benefit will be to increase the Hookpad community experience in a creative way. For example, I am a blues guitarist who, after fully accessing Hookpad, managed to compose reasonable good House music after a very short period of time (example below - all music was composed and exported straight to mp3 without use of a DAW).
Best Paul

1 Like

Hey Paul,

that’s a great song! I had a look through your album on Youtube. Are all those songs created with Hookpad only, or did you mix in some other instruments?

Regards!

Dennis

Hi Dennis,
All songs (except Trapp) 100% on Hookpad. I’m a complete rookie when it comes to mixing. Hookpad has changed my musical world with regards composition. The fact you have developed great sounds and instruments just make it more fun. Your core product allows pretty decent tunes to be composed and exported.
Best
Paul

Hi Paul,
that’s amazing. As I produced all Hookpad Sounds myself, it’s always great to see how others use them in a creative way and bring them to live.
I think your mixing is not bad, but at parts a bit inconsistent. Let me give you some tips:
For this kind of music I would start to have the drums on the same level through out the song. You can have of course parts with no drums or reduced drums, like only the snare or a clap sound on the backbeat. Try to think more black and white, more like full drums vs. no (reduced) drums.

After establishing a consistent drum level, find a bass level that fits to those drums and stick with it. Here I would also think in black and white. Use full bass, or for the parts with no drums, no bass.