Chord Names: Explained Simply

I’m no expert on music theory, but here’s what I’ve learned by just messing around with the chords and by following the Hookpad interface. Primarily for the noobs.

[u][b]Keys[/b][/u] W=Whole step, H=Half step
  • Major: W-W-H-W-W-W-H
  • Minor: W-H-W-W-H-W-W (Starts on the 6th of Major) (major with 3rd, 6th and 7th lowered) *
  • Dorian: W-H-W-W-W-H-W (Starts on the 2nd of Major) (minor with 6th raised)
  • Phrygian: H-W-W-W-W-H-W-W (Starts on the 3rd of Major) (minor with 2nd lowered)
  • Lydian: W-W-W-H-W-W-H (Starts on 4th) (major with 4th raised)
  • Mixolydian: W-W-H-W-W-H-W (Starts on 5th) (major with 7th lowered)
  • Locrian: H-W-W-H-W-W-W-W (Starts on 7th) (minor with 2nd and 5th lowered)

*Hookpad minor is natural minor. Harmonic minor would have the 7th be not lowered.

Chords
Types of Chords

• Capital Letter/M: Major chord. (Intervals between notes: III-iii [Major third, then minor third])
  • Lowercase/m: Minor. Lowered 3rd. (iii-III)
  • aug/+: Augmented. Raised 5th. (III-III) Does not exist in Hookpad.
  • dim/o: Diminished. Lowered 3rd and 5th. (iii-iii). The o can be written with (without spaces): < sup >text< /sup >

Inversions
Inversions have the same notes, but different order.

• 6/6: 3rd is the root (bottom note). Written as [Chord name]/[New root]. (With 7: 6-5/65)
  • 6-4/64: 5th is the root. (With 7: 4-3/43)
  • 4-2/42: Only occurs with 7. 7th is the root.

Embellishments
These are symbols that change the chord’s notes, but keep the same low-to-high order.

• 7/7: The 7th scale degree is tacked on top of the chord. Can be applied to anything except sus42 and (add9).
  • (add9)/(add9): The 2nd scale degree is added in between the 1st and the 3rd.
  • sus4/sus4: The 3rd in the chord is changed to the 4th.
  • sus2/sus2: The 3rd is changed to the 2nd.
  • sus42/sus42: The 3rd is changed to both the 2nd and the 4th.

Non-Diatonic Chords
These are either X of … or borrowed chords.